## Resolution of Solidarity and Respect

15 November 2016

The recent US presidential campaign was marked by strident and divisive political rhetoric. We, the undersigned faculty and staff of John Carroll University, deplore the racist, homophobic, misogynistic, and nativist rhetoric that marked the campaign season, and we publicly reaffirm our commitment to the respect and openness to difference that is a hallmark of the Ignatian tradition. We celebrate the diverse backgrounds, gifts, and interests represented at John Carroll, and we pledge to work together to ensure that each and every JCU student, staff, and faculty person is welcomed at this university as an equal member in this community of scholarship and understanding. Furthermore, as Catholic Social Teaching and our commitment to social justice demands, we as a community reassert our particular commitment to stand with all who have been marginalized, threatened, or disenfranchised as a result of this painful and divisive election.

- Sheila E. McGinn, PhD, Professor and Chair, Department of Theology & Religious Studies
- Debra J. Rosenthal, PhD, Professor and Chair, Department of English
- Terry L. Mills, PhD, Assistant Provost for Diversity and Inclusion
- Theron N. Ford, PhD, Associate Professor of Education & School Psychology
- Mindy Peden, PhD, Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Political Science
- Kenneth E. Robinson, Campus Ministry Intern; Pastor, Christian Valley Missionary Baptist Church
- Michele Stopera Freyhauf, ABDiss, Lecturer, Department of Theology & Religious Studies
- John B. Scarano, MA, Director of Campus Ministry
- Megan T. Wilson-Reitz, MA, Administrative Assistant, Office of the Provost and Academic Vice President; Lecturer, Department of Theology & Religious Studies
- Jeffrey R. Johansen, PhD, Professor, Department of Biology
- Kari L. Vara, Lecturer, Department of English
- Gail Roussey, MA, JD, Associate Director of Campus Ministry
- Jim Lissemore, PhD, Professor, Department of Biology
- Jared Ward, ABDiss, Lecturer, Department of Theology & Religious Studies
- Santa Casciani, PhD, Professor, Department of Classical & Modern Languages & Cultures
- Judith Cetina, PhD, Lecturer, Department of Theology & Religious Studies
- Phyllis Braudy Harris, PhD, Professor and Chair, Department of Sociology & Criminology
- Angela C. Jones, PhD, Associate Professor, Dept of Psychology; Honors Program Director
- Edward Hahnenberg, PhD, Breen Chair and Professor, Department of Theology & Religious Studies
- Alana G. Andrews, MA, Lecturer, Department of English

- Anne McGinness, PhD, Office of Campus Ministry; Lecturer, Dept of Theology & Religious Studies
- Rebecca E. Drenovsky, PhD, Professor and Chair, Department of Biology
- James Krukones, PhD, Professor, Department of History; Associate Academic Vice President
- Thomas B. Pace, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of English
- Emily Butler, PhD, Assistant Professor, Department of English
- JP Graulty, Assistant Director for Community Partnerships, Center for Service and Social Action
- Kristen Tobey, PhD, Visiting Assistant Professor, Department of Theology and Religious Studies
- Cecile Brennan, PhD, Associate Professor, Chair, Department of Counseling
- Russell A. Tripi, MA, Lecturer, Department of Theology and Religious Studies
- Graciela Lacueva, PhD, Associate Dean, Science, Mathematics, and Health
- Brenda Wirkus, PhD, Professor of Philosophy & Director, MA Program in Humanities
- Mark Onusko, PsyD, Psychologist and Director of the University Counseling Center
- Joan Carney, MA, Lecturer, Department of Theology and Religious Studies
- Sara Schiavoni, ABDiss, Department of Political Science
- Kathleen Philipps, PhD, Lecturer, Department of Theology and Religious Studies
- Jerome V. Andrews, MA, Instructor, Department of Theology and Religious Studies
- Aidan Kelly, Mphil, Lecturer, Department of Political Science
- Jessica Horne Merugu, MA, Lecturer, Department of Theology and Religious Studies
- John A. Ambrose, B.A. Political Science, Administrative Assistant, Department of Political Science and Nonprofit Administration Program
- Samantha L. Cocco, MNA, Assistant Director for Student Engagement, Center for Service and Social Action
- Ralph A. Saporito, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Biology
- Michael Younes, Graduate Assistant Department of Theology and Religious Studies
- Elizabeth A. Stiles, Associate Professor, Department of Political Science
- Salomon Rodezno, M.Ed., Assistant Director, Center for Student Diversity and Inclusion
- David Buhrow, MA, Instructor, Department of Theology and Religious Studies